Menu

Become a QL+ Mentor

The purpose of the QL+ mentor program is to have professionals with engineering and related STEM degrees volunteer to mentor student teams working on QL+ projects at selected colleges and universities.

Local mentors are being sought to work with student teams at the following schools at which QL+ is sponsoring projects in the 2019-20 Academic Year:

Cal Poly Project Manager: Vanessa Salas (vanessa.salas@qlplus.org)

San Diego State University Project Manager: Annemarie Orr (annemarie.orr@qlplus.org)

Rocky Mountain Region Program Manager: Court Allen (court.allen@qlplus.org)

  • Colorado School of Mines
  • University of Colorado Boulder

Mid-West Region Program Manager: Amber Humphrey (amber.humphrey@qlplus.org)

  • Ohio University
  • University of Dayton
  • University of Cincinnati
  • Xavier University

Eastern Region Program Manager: COL Barb Springer, PhD, PT, USA (Ret.) (barb.springer@qlplus.org)

  • George Washington University
  • Catholic University
  • U.S. Naval Academy
  • South Florida University
  • Rowan University
  • Norwich University

Virginia Tech, and Virginia Commonwealth University Project Manager: Janet Papazis (janet.papazis@qlplus.org)

University of Texas San Antonio and George Mason University Project Manager: Bob Wolff ((bob.wolff@qlplus.org)

QL+ has an assigned PM for each school as listed above. The PM is responsible for establishing and coordinating the mentor relationship with the QL+ project Faculty Advisor, Student Team, and the injured Veteran (Challenger), for whom the project will improve his/her quality of life. The opportunity to interface with the student team will vary based on the guidelines established by the Faculty Advisor.

Mentors are preferred in the disciplines of the team or related needed for project success. For example: a mechanical engineer (ME) would be best to mentor disciplines ME student teams. Mentors will be expected to attend student working sessions and presentations as requested by the PM to provide feedback on the team’s work and to provide thought provoking questions without providing solutions. The PM will maintain the mentor’s contact information and be the liaison between the mentor and students.

Prospective mentors are encouraged to contact the QL+ PM listed above or Catherine Harkins at catherine.harkins@qlplus.org or 703-442-0038 Ext 3.